Varying schemas and autocomplete problems

Having trouble installing Oxygen? Got a bug to report? Post it all here.
napthali

Varying schemas and autocomplete problems

Post by napthali »

I'm very new to oxygen, to it's quite possible that I'm simply misusing a feature, here.

When I use a Relax NG schema, oxygen doesn't properly add required attributes and elements with the autocomplete function. If I take that schema and make it into a W3C XML Schema (using Trang), then it properly autocompletes, but no longer validates content defined as xsd:integer and the like.

It's an unfortunate tradeoff to make, as I'd very much like to have both features so my engineers don't have to worry about their data being proper and complete.

Any advice or thoughts on the matter?

(A secondary question... is there an attribute-level equivalent of the "Go after Next Tag" shortcut?)
sorin_ristache

Re: Varying schemas and autocomplete problems

Post by sorin_ristache »

Hello,
napthali wrote:When I use a Relax NG schema, oxygen doesn't properly add required attributes and elements with the autocomplete function.
I think you want to insert automatically child elements and child attributes that are not defined as optional (the oneOrMore pattern, attributes that are not enclosed by the optional pattern, etc) when their parent element is inserted in the edited document by the content completion assistant. Yes, that is a difference between content completion based on an XML Schema vs. a Relax NG schema. It is an enhancement for content completion based on Relax NG schemas that we will consider for a future version of oXygen.
napthali wrote:is there an attribute-level equivalent of the "Go after Next Tag" shortcut?)